Commodore Barry Park
Nassau St., Park Ave., bet. Navy St. and N. Elliot Pl.
Directions via Google Maps
Commodore Barry Park was acquired in 1836 by the Village of Brooklyn and named "City Park." It is the oldest park in the borough. It was renamed for Commodore Barry in 1951, due to its location next to the Brooklyn Navy Yard that Barry helped found. The Navy Yard has played an important role in the local economy since it opened in 1801, employing over 70,000 men and women 24 hours a day at its peak operation during World War II. In 1966 the Navy Yard was sold to the City of New York and was then converted into an industrial park.
Discover the history of Commodore Barry Park
Directions to Commodore Barry Park
- Commodore Barry Park Lighting and Synthetic Turf Field Reconstruction
- Commodore Barry Park Lighting Installation
- Commodore Barry Park Pool Reconstruction
- Commodore Barry Park Sports Lighting Construction
- Commodore Barry Park, Underhill Playground, and Lowry Triangle Reconstruction