Trygve Lie Plaza

View all monuments in NYC Parks, as well as temporary public art installations on our NYC Public Art Map and Guide.

Peace Clock

Click map for directions

  • Location: 1st Avenue between 41st and 42nd Streets
  • Sculptor: Lina Viste Gronli
  • Description: Abstract kinetic sculpture in the form of a clock whose arms form the peace sign twice a day (at 4pm and 4am).
  • Materials: brass
  • Dimensions: 14' Diameter
  • Dedicated: September 8th, 2016
  • Fabricator: The Verdin Company
  • Inscription: TRYGVE HALVDAN LIE
    1896 - 1968

    "It is the future of the whole civilized world which is at stake."
    Acceptance Speech as the United Nations Secretary-General, February 2, 1946

    This plaza and sculpture honor Norwegian diplomat and humanitarian Trygve Lie, first Secretary-General of the United Nations, 1946-1952. Lie’s principled leadership in the pioneer years helped establish the United Nations’ mission in promoting world peace, fundamental human rights, and international law. He was in charge of developing the growing United Nations organization and of establishing its headquarters in Manhattan.

    In Norway Lie served as the secretary of the Norwegian Labor Party in the 1920s, Minister of Justice in the 1930s and during World War II as Foreign minister of the exiled Norwegian Government in London. He served as Norwegian Minister of Industry and Minister of Trade and Shipping in the 1960s.

    Lina Viste Grønli
    This artwork commemorates Trygve Lie’s life and legacy and connects his aspiration for peace with the ongoing work of the United Nations, located across First Avenue. The abstract kinetic sculpture functions as a clock whose hands, twice a day, assume the position of the peace sign.

    Commissioned by the City of New York’s Department of Cultural Affairs Percent for Art Program and Department of Parks and Recreation, and the Government of Norway.

    The City of New York thanks the following donors:
    DNB Bank • Ford Foundation • Government of Norway • International Peace Institute
    Ragnar Meyer Knutsen • Nordea Bank • Nordic American Tankers Ltd
    Stein Erik Hagen Allmennyttige • Agnes E. Werring and Petter F. Neslein
    Arthur W. Zeckendorf • Guri Lie Zeckendorf • Laura and William Lie Zeckendorf

Please note, the NAME field includes a primary designation as well as alternate namingsoften in common or popular usage. The DEDICATED field refers to the most recent dedication, most often, butnot necessarily the original dedication date. If the monument did not have a formal dedication, the yearlisted reflects the date of installation.

For more information, please contact Art & Antiquities at (212) 360-8163

Park Information

Directions to Trygve Lie Plaza

  • The Peace Clock

Was this information helpful?