Theodore Roosevelt Park


Wednesday, September 28, 2016
No. 91

NYC Parks Commissioner Mitchell J. Silver, FAICP, yesterday joined Leif Pagrotsky, Consul General of Sweden in New York, and Elin Bergithe Rognlie, Consul General of Norway in New York, to unveil the newly inscribed 2015 American Laureates names on Parks’ Nobel Monument in Theodore Roosevelt Park in Manhattan.

2015 American Laureates:

The Nobel Prize in Chemistry 2015 was awarded jointly to Tomas Lindahl, Paul Modrich and Aziz Sancar "for mechanistic studies of DNA repair.” The Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine 2015 was divided, one half jointly to William C. Campbell and Satoshi Αmura "for their discoveries concerning a novel therapy against infections caused by roundworm parasites" and the other half to Youyou Tu "for her discoveries concerning a novel therapy against Malaria." The Sveriges Riksbank Prize in Economic Sciences in Memory of Alfred Nobel 2015 was awarded to Angus Deaton "for his analysis of consumption, poverty, and welfare."

No other country has been home to as many Nobel Prize recipients as the United States. Since 1901, when the prize first was presented, 349 Americans have attained universal recognition of their achievements in physics, chemistry, medicine, literature, and for promoting peace.

The monument was erected in 2003 in a joint project initiated and overseen by the Consulate General of Sweden and NYC Parks. The structure honors all American Nobel Laureates, as well as the founder of the Nobel Prize, Swedish inventor Alfred Nobel.

The Nobel Monument is the only monument in an NYC park on which the names of living persons are inscribed.

Directions to Theodore Roosevelt Park

Was this information helpful?