Jackson Mill Green

Jackson Mill Green

This text is part of Parks’ Historical Signs Project and can be found posted within the park.

This property takes its name from the nearby mill that ground wheat and corn for the residents of north Queens. The mill had three names over the course of its existence: Kip’s Mill, Fish’s Mill, and finally Jackson’s Mill. A large water wheel that harnessed the flow of the adjacent pond provided power to the mill. The road crossing the dam is now 94th Street, and the pond is now part of the Grand Central Parkway. The whole area is now the entrance to La Guardia airport.

This park was once known as Trolley Triangle for the historic trolley line that ran through the area. In May 1894, the first ever Brooklyn City trolley car entered Queens county. At the end of the month, the Grand Street line was opened, running between Maspeth Depot and Broadway. The line was soon extended, running from Maspeth Depot to Junction Avenue and across to Bowery Bay. The opening of the line was a ceremonious event, and the first trolley car to travel the line carried a roster of distinguished passengers that included the president of the Brooklyn Heights Rail Road. When the car reached Jackson’s Mill during that opening run of the line, the passengers stopped to tour the old mill whose water wheel and grinding stones were then still intact.

Jackson Mill Green is in the Queens neighborhood of East Elmhurst, which is located in north central Queens. It is bounded by La Guardia Airport, Flushing Bay, 85th Street, and Northern Boulevard. Northern Boulevard is the boundary between East Elmhurst and Jackson Heights. East Elmhurst was developed in 1905 as a purely residential neighborhood, characterized by frame houses on 40 by 100-foot lots. After World War II, the neighborhood’s proximity to La Guardia Airport fostered commercial growth.

This park opened in September 1950. Commissioner Stern changed the name from Trolley Triangle to Jackson Mill Green in April 1997. The park now features several large trees lining the perimeter. Also in the park are three large white rocks and three concrete urns holding plants. A testament to the rich history of early Queens industry and mass transit, it also offers passers-by a pleasant glimpse of nature.

Park Information

Directions to Jackson Mill Green

Was this information helpful?