J.J. Byrne Playground
The Old Stone HouseLocation: Fifth Avenue at Third Street
Phone: (718) 768-3195
Description: In the Park Slope/Gowanus neighborhood of Brooklyn stands a replica of a Dutch stone farmhouse with a very rich history. The original house was built by Nicholas Vechte beside the Gowanus Creek in 1699. Later, during the Revolutionary War, the house was taken amidst fierce fighting by an estimated 2,000 British and hired Hessian soldiers. In 1797, the house was sold to the Cortelyou family. Almost a century later, it became the first clubhouse of the Brooklyn team of the National Baseball League, later known as the Brooklyn Dodgers. By the 1890s, the house had been demolished but was rebuilt with the original stones in the 1930s to serve as a sports facility in the newly opened J. J. Byrne Park (now named Washington Park). Today, the Old Stone House offers a year-round program of education and cultural events.
Directions to J.J. Byrne Playground
- Colonial Themed Celebration Officially Opens J.J. Byrne Playground
- Parks Breaks Ground On Third Phase Of Renovations In Washington Park
- 2010 Best of Parks Awards: Tornado Response