Hansborough Recreation Center
W. 134 St., Lenox Terrace Pl.
Directions via Google Maps
The 134th Street Bathhouse opened to the public on June 1, 1925 under the auspices of Manhattan Borough President Julius Miller. It was one of many bathhouses built early in the century to promote public health, hygiene, and recreation. According to a 1927 newspaper article, the Harlem facility was built at a cost of almost $500,000 and was “the last word in shower bath construction.” The stunning natatorium (meaning indoor swimming pool, from the Latin natare, to swim) was decorated with tiles, mosaics, and ceramic panels depicting sea creatures.
Directions to Hansborough Recreation Center
- Citywide Recreation Center Fire Alarm System Reconstruction
- Hansborough Recreation Center Reconstruction
- Manhattan Oil to Gas-Fired Burner Conversion (MG-814M)