An illustration of a hand throwing trash into a garbage can.

Become a Litter Ambassador!

New York City’s parks are being used more than ever before as a result of the pandemic, which often means more litter. You can help! NYC Parks is looking for Litter Ambassadors – caring New Yorkers who distribute garbage bags to neighbors at their local park and guide them in properly disposing of their trash. Ambassadors should be willing to volunteer at least four hours throughout the summer to help keep our parks and beaches clean for everyone to enjoy!

Parks will provide garbage bags and vests that identify volunteers as Litter Ambassadors.

Locations

Parks needs Litter Ambassadors in several parks throughout the city. Please contact the staff person listed if you are interested in volunteering at that site.

Park Contact Email
Crotona Park Shawn Cargil Shawn.Cargil@parks.nyc.gov
Orchard Beach Marianne Anderson Marianne.Anderson@parks.nyc.gov
Pelham Bay Park Marianne Anderson Marianne.Anderson@parks.nyc.gov
Van Cortlandt Park Stephanie Ehrlich Stephanie.Ehrlich@parks.nyc.gov
Park Contact Email
Cooper Park Mary Salig Mary.Salig@parks.nyc.gov
Manhattan Beach Gloria Daniels Gloria.Daniels@parks.nyc.gov
McCarren Park Mary Salig Mary.Salig@parks.nyc.gov
Park Contact Email
Fort Tryon Park Maria Febus Maria.Febus@parks.nyc.gov
Highbridge Park Maria Febus Maria.Febus@parks.nyc.gov
Inwood Hill Park Maria Febus Maria.Febus@parks.nyc.gov
Jackie Robinson Park Jana LaSorte Jana.LaSorte@parks.nyc.gov
Marcus Garvey Park Jana LaSorte Jana.LaSorte@parks.nyc.gov
Morningside Park Jana LaSorte Jana.LaSorte@parks.nyc.gov
St. Nicholas Park Jana LaSorte Jana.LaSorte@parks.nyc.gov
Park Contact Email
Alley Pond Park:
Springfield Playground
Matt Symons Matt.Symons@parks.nyc.gov
Alley Pond Park:
Upper Alley Pond
Matt Symons Matt.Symons@parks.nyc.gov
Far Rockaway: O'Donohue Park Eric Peterson Eric.Peterson@parks.nyc.gov
Flushing Meadows Corona Park Janice Melnick Janice.Melnick@parks.nyc.gov
Forest Park Portia Dyrenforth Portia.Dyrenforth@parks.nyc.gov
Highland Park Portia Dyrenforth Portia.Dyrenforth@parks.nyc.gov
Rockaway Beach Eric Peterson Eric.Peterson@parks.nyc.gov

Park Contact Email
Midland Beach Tony Arcamone Tony.Arcamone@parks.nyc.gov
Wolfe's Pond Park Rashaun Mitchell Rashaun.Mitchell@parks.nyc.gov

Was this information helpful?