This Old (Conference) House: Celebrating 50 years of NYC landmarks
Saturday, March 3, 2018
1:00 p.m.–4:00 p.m.
Although the historic Billopp House aka Conference House was built c. 1680 and restored as a museum house in 1926, it did not receive official NYC landmark designation protection until 1967.
With the tragic loss of New York’s original Pennsylvania Station, the famed architectural gem by the acclaimed architectural firm of McKim, Mead and White in 1963 galvanized the preservation community to begin advocating for the passage of a landmark protection law. Initially, the effort was slow to gain broad support, but the demolition of the Brokaw Mansion (among others along 5th Avenue) pushed the City Council to draft and approve the City’s first landmark protection bill. It was signed into law by Mayor Robert F. Wagner on April 19th 1965.
A flurry of landmark designation took place in the early years of the new law. In 1965, the City designated 39 buildings, with the first building to receive designation: the 300 year-old Pieter Claesen Wyckoff House in Brooklyn, which is considered the oldest surviving built structure in NYC. The following year over 100 buildings received designation. And in 1967, 80 structures received designation including the Conference House along with 18 notable and significant structures on Staten Island. Among these the nearby Seguine Mansion in Princes Bay and the Poillon House (aka Fredrick Law Olmsted House) in Eltingville.
Fifty years later, in large part to this landmark protection, these structures are still proudly standing. They preserve Staten Island’s rich history and architecture.
Join us for a talk and photographic presentation of the "NYC Landmarks Class of 1967" in the historic Conference House kitchen.
Please note: Pre-registration is required. To register, please email email@example.com.