NYC Resources311Office of the Mayor

Official Website of the New York City Department of Parks & Recreation

Urban Park Rangers

Program Registration

Urban Park Ranger and a group of people around a tent

Welcome to our online registration system!

In order to guarantee everyone an equal chance of attending our programs, we’ve developed a lottery for program registration.

How the Lottery Works:

  • The lottery will be open to submissions for a 24-hour period, beginning at midnight on the dates specified below.
  • If you do not have access to a computer and cannot visit the library to register online, we will be able to enter your name for you if you call the phone number listed alongside your program of interest in the table below between the hours of 10:00 a.m. and 4:00 p.m. on the day of the lottery.
  • We permit one registration entry per household per program. If you enter more than once, you will be disqualified from the lottery.
  • The lottery closes at 11:59 p.m. Soon after, a list of attendees is randomly generated by computer. If you are selected, you will receive a phone call and a confirmation number within a few days of the lottery.
  • A waiting list will also be randomly generated by computer. If space becomes available due to a cancellation, we will select and notify the next eligible group on the waiting list. You will NOT be notified if you are on the waiting list. You will only be notified if you are selected for a program.
  • If you fail to attend a campout without notifying the Rangers in advance, you will be disqualified from entering your name into another lottery for the rest of the summer.
  • All campouts are rain or shine. Programs that are cancelled for any reason will not be rescheduled.

Upcoming Programs

Family Camping Bronx

Date and Time of ProgramLocationRegistration Information
Saturday, August 8, 2015
6:00 pm– 7:00 am
Pelham Bay Park
718-319-7258

Sign up

30 spots available
Friday, August 21, 2015
7:00 pm– 7:00 am
Van Cortlandt Park
718-548-0912

Online registration takes place on Wednesday, August 12, 2015

30 spots available
Saturday, September 12, 2015
6:00 pm– 7:00 am
Pelham Bay Park
718-319-7258

Online registration takes place on Wednesday, September 2, 2015

30 spots available

Ranger's Choice: Hawk Watch

Date and Time of ProgramLocationRegistration Information
Sunday, September 6, 2015
1:00 pm– 3:00 pm
Pelham Bay Park
718-319-7258

Online registration takes place on Thursday, August 27, 2015

30 spots available

Family Camping Brooklyn

Date and Time of ProgramLocationRegistration Information
Saturday, August 15, 2015
6:00 pm– 7:00 am
Prospect Park
718-421-2021

Online registration takes place on Wednesday, August 5, 2015

30 spots available
Friday, August 28, 2015
7:00 pm– 7:00 am
Marine Park
718-421-2021

Online registration takes place on Tuesday, August 18, 2015

30 spots available
Saturday, September 19, 2015
7:00 pm– 7:00 am
Prospect Park
718-421-2021

Online registration takes place on Wednesday, September 9, 2015

30 spots available

Ranger's Choice: Hike & Paddle Gerrittsen Creek

Date and Time of ProgramLocationRegistration Information
Saturday, August 22, 2015
10:00 am–12:00 pm
Marine Park
718-421-2021

Online registration takes place on Tuesday, August 11, 2015

14 spots available

Family Camping Manhattan

Date and Time of ProgramLocationRegistration Information
Friday, July 31, 2015
7:00 pm– 7:00 am
Inwood Hill Park
212-628-2345

Online registration ended on Tuesday, July 21, 2015

Saturday, August 22, 2015
6:00 pm– 7:00 am
Central Park
212-628-2345

Online registration takes place on Wednesday, August 12, 2015

30 spots available
Friday, September 4, 2015
7:00 pm– 7:00 am
Inwood Hill Park
212-628-2345

Online registration takes place on Wednesday, August 26, 2015

30 spots available

Ranger's Choice: Highbridge Park History

Date and Time of ProgramLocationRegistration Information
Sunday, August 2, 2015
11:00 am– 1:00 pm
Highbridge Park
212-628-2345

Online registration ended on Wednesday, July 22, 2015

Ranger's Choice: Little Red Lighthouse Lantern Tour

Date and Time of ProgramLocationRegistration Information
Saturday, August 8, 2015
8:00 pm– 9:30 pm
Fort Washington Park
212-628-2345

Sign up

30 spots available

Randall's Island Salt Marsh Canoe Excursion (Advanced)

Date and Time of ProgramLocationRegistration Information
Saturday, August 29, 2015
10:00 am– 1:00 pm
Randall's Island Park
212-628-2345

Online registration takes place on Wednesday, August 19, 2015

14 spots available

Idlewild Birding by Canoe Excursion (Advanced)

Date and Time of ProgramLocationRegistration Information
Saturday, August 1, 2015
11:00 am– 1:00 pm
Idlewild Park
718-352-1769

Online registration ended on Wednesday, July 22, 2015

Alley Pond Park Adventure Course

Date and Time of ProgramLocationRegistration Information
Sunday, August 2, 2015
9:30 am–12:00 pm
Alley Pond Park Adventure Center
718-217-4685

Online registration ended on Monday, July 27, 2015

Sunday, August 2, 2015
1:00 pm– 3:30 pm
Alley Pond Park Adventure Center
718-217-4685

Online registration ended on Monday, July 27, 2015

Sunday, August 9, 2015
9:30 am–12:00 pm
Alley Pond Park Adventure Center
718-217-4685

Online registration takes place on Monday, August 3, 2015

40 spots available
Sunday, August 9, 2015
1:00 pm– 3:30 pm
Alley Pond Park Adventure Center
718-217-4685

Online registration takes place on Monday, August 3, 2015

40 spots available
Sunday, August 16, 2015
9:30 am–12:00 pm
Alley Pond Park Adventure Center
718-217-4685

Online registration takes place on Monday, August 10, 2015

40 spots available
Sunday, August 16, 2015
1:00 pm– 3:30 pm
Alley Pond Park Adventure Center
718-217-4685

Online registration takes place on Monday, August 10, 2015

40 spots available
Sunday, August 23, 2015
9:30 am–12:00 pm
Alley Pond Park Adventure Center
718-217-4685

Online registration takes place on Monday, August 17, 2015

40 spots available
Sunday, August 23, 2015
1:00 pm– 3:30 pm
Alley Pond Park Adventure Center
718-217-4685

Online registration takes place on Monday, August 17, 2015

40 spots available

Family Camping Queens

Date and Time of ProgramLocationRegistration Information
Friday, August 7, 2015
7:00 pm– 7:00 am
Fort Totten Park
718-352-1769

Online registration ended on Tuesday, July 28, 2015

Saturday, August 29, 2015
6:00 pm– 7:00 am
Alley Pond Park
718-352-1769

Online registration takes place on Wednesday, August 19, 2015

30 spots available
Friday, September 11, 2015
7:00 pm– 7:00 am
Fort Totten Park
718-352-1769

Online registration takes place on Tuesday, September 1, 2015

30 spots available

Ranger's Choice: Lunar Eclipse

Date and Time of ProgramLocationRegistration Information
Sunday, September 27, 2015
8:00 pm–10:00 pm
Fort Totten Park
718-352-1769

Online registration takes place on Wednesday, September 16, 2015

30 spots available

Family Camping Staten Island

Date and Time of ProgramLocationRegistration Information
Saturday, August 1, 2015
6:00 pm– 7:00 am
Blue Heron Park
718-967-3542

Online registration ended on Wednesday, July 22, 2015

Saturday, August 8, 2015
6:00 pm– 7:00 am
High Rock Park
718-967-3542

Sign up

30 spots available
Friday, August 14, 2015
7:00 pm– 7:00 am
Conference House Park
718-967-3542

Online registration takes place on Tuesday, August 4, 2015

30 spots available

Ranger's Choice: Archery

Date and Time of ProgramLocationRegistration Information
Saturday, August 29, 2015
1:00 pm– 3:00 pm
Willowbrook Park
718-967-3542

Online registration takes place on Wednesday, August 19, 2015

30 spots available
Sunday, September 13, 2015
1:00 pm– 3:00 pm
Willowbrook Park
718-967-3542

Online registration takes place on Wednesday, September 2, 2015

30 spots available

Was this information helpful?