NYC Resources311Office of the Mayor

Urban Park Rangers

Program Registration

Urban Park Ranger and a group of people around a tent

Welcome to our online registration system!

In order to guarantee everyone an equal chance of attending our programs, we’ve developed a lottery for program registration.

How the Lottery Works:

  • The lottery will be open to submissions for a 24-hour period, beginning at midnight on the dates specified below.
  • If you do not have access to a computer and cannot visit the library to register online, we will be able to enter your name for you if you call the phone number listed alongside your program of interest in the table below between the hours of 10:00 a.m. and 4:00 p.m. on the day of the lottery.
  • We permit one registration entry per household per program. If you enter more than once, you will be disqualified from the lottery.
  • The lottery closes at 11:59 p.m. Soon after, a list of attendees is randomly generated by computer. If you are selected, you will receive a phone call and a confirmation number within a few days of the lottery.
  • A waiting list will also be randomly generated by computer. If space becomes available due to a cancellation, we will select and notify the next eligible group on the waiting list. You will NOT be notified if you are on the waiting list. You will only be notified if you are selected for a program.
  • If you fail to attend a campout without notifying the Rangers in advance, you will be disqualified from entering your name into another lottery for the rest of the summer.
  • All campouts are rain or shine. Programs that are cancelled for any reason will not be rescheduled.

Upcoming Programs

Pelham Bay Birding by Canoe Adventure (intermediate)

Date and Time of ProgramLocationRegistration Information
Sunday, July 27, 2014
11:00 am– 1:00 pm
Pelham Bay Park
718-319-7258

Online registration ended on Thursday, July 17, 2014

Family Camping

Date and Time of ProgramLocationRegistration Information
Saturday, August 9, 2014
6:00 pm– 7:00 am
Pelham Bay Park
718-319-7258

Online registration takes place on Wednesday, July 30, 2014

30 spots available
Friday, August 22, 2014
6:00 pm– 7:00 am
Van Cortlandt Park
718-548-0912

Online registration takes place on Wednesday, August 13, 2014

30 spots available
Saturday, September 13, 2014
6:00 pm– 7:00 am
Pelham Bay Park/Orchard Beach
718-319-7258

Online registration takes place on Wednesday, September 3, 2014

30 spots available

Rangers Choice: Hawk Watch

Date and Time of ProgramLocationRegistration Information
Sunday, September 7, 2014
1:00 pm– 3:00 pm
Pelham Bay Park
718-319-7258

Online registration takes place on Thursday, August 28, 2014

40 spots available

Family Camping

Date and Time of ProgramLocationRegistration Information
Friday, July 25, 2014
6:00 pm– 7:00 am
Marine Park
718-421-2021

Online registration ended on Tuesday, July 15, 2014

Saturday, August 16, 2014
6:00 pm– 7:00 am
Owls Head Park
718-421-2021

Online registration takes place on Wednesday, August 6, 2014

30 spots available
Friday, August 29, 2014
6:00 pm– 7:00 am
Marine Park
718-421-2021

Online registration takes place on Tuesday, August 19, 2014

30 spots available
Saturday, September 20, 2014
6:00 pm– 7:00 am
Prospect Park
718-421-2021

Online registration takes place on Wednesday, September 10, 2014

30 spots available

Fresh Creek Birding by Canoe Adventure

Date and Time of ProgramLocationRegistration Information
Sunday, August 3, 2014
11:00 am– 2:00 am
Fresh Creek Park
718-421-2021

Sign up

14 spots available

Birding: Brooklyn Road Trip

Date and Time of ProgramLocationRegistration Information
Saturday, September 27, 2014
10:00 am– 3:00 pm
Brooklyn
718-421-2021

Online registration takes place on Wednesday, September 17, 2014

14 spots available

Hudson River Canoe Adventure

Date and Time of ProgramLocationRegistration Information
Saturday, July 26, 2014
10:00 am– 1:00 am
Inwood Hill Park
212-304-2365

Online registration ended on Wednesday, July 16, 2014

Saturday, August 30, 2014
12:00 pm– 3:00 pm
Inwood Hill Park
212-628-2345

Online registration takes place on Wednesday, August 20, 2014

14 spots available

City Hall to Brooklyn Bridge Park hike (moderate)

Date and Time of ProgramLocationRegistration Information
Sunday, July 27, 2014
10:00 am– 1:00 pm
City Hall Park
212-628-2345

Online registration ended on Wednesday, July 16, 2014

Family Camping

Date and Time of ProgramLocationRegistration Information
Friday, August 1, 2014
6:00 pm– 7:00 am
Inwood Hill Park
212-304-2365

Online registration ended on Tuesday, July 22, 2014

Saturday, August 23, 2014
6:00 pm– 7:00 am
Central Park
212-628-2345

Online registration takes place on Wednesday, August 13, 2014

30 spots available
Friday, September 5, 2014
6:00 pm– 7:00 am
Inwood Hill Park
212-628-2345

Online registration takes place on Wednesday, August 27, 2014

30 spots available

Rangers Choice: Fortress Central Park

Date and Time of ProgramLocationRegistration Information
Sunday, August 3, 2014
11:00 am– 1:00 pm
Central Park
212-628-2345

Sign up

40 spots available

Little Red Lighthouse Lantern Tour

Date and Time of ProgramLocationRegistration Information
Saturday, August 9, 2014
8:00 pm–10:00 pm
Ft Washington Park
212-628-2345

Online registration takes place on Wednesday, July 30, 2014

30 spots available

Randalls Island Canoe Excursion Advanced

Date and Time of ProgramLocationRegistration Information
Sunday, August 10, 2014
10:00 am– 1:00 pm
Randalls Island Park
212-628-2345

Online registration takes place on Wednesday, July 30, 2014

14 spots available

Family Camping

Date and Time of ProgramLocationRegistration Information
Saturday, July 26, 2014
6:00 pm– 7:00 am
Alley Pond Park
718-352-1769

Online registration ended on Wednesday, July 16, 2014

Friday, August 8, 2014
6:00 pm– 7:00 am
Cunningham Park
718-352-1769

Online registration takes place on Tuesday, July 29, 2014

30 spots available
Saturday, August 30, 2014
6:00 pm– 7:00 am
Fort Totten
718-352-1769

Online registration takes place on Wednesday, August 20, 2014

30 spots available
Friday, September 12, 2014
6:00 pm– 7:00 am
Alley Pond Park
718-352-1769

Online registration takes place on Tuesday, September 2, 2014

30 spots available

Alley Pond Park Adventure Course

Date and Time of ProgramLocationRegistration Information
Sunday, July 27, 2014
9:30 am–12:00 pm
Alley Pond Park
(718)217-4685

Online registration ended on Monday, July 21, 2014

Sunday, July 27, 2014
1:00 pm– 3:30 pm
Alley Pond Park
(718)217-4685

Online registration ended on Monday, July 21, 2014

Sunday, August 3, 2014
9:30 am–12:00 pm
Alley Pond Park
(718)217-4685

Online registration takes place on Monday, July 28, 2014

40 spots available
Sunday, August 3, 2014
1:00 pm– 3:30 pm
Alley Pond Park
(718)217-4685

Online registration takes place on Monday, July 28, 2014

40 spots available
Sunday, August 10, 2014
9:30 am–12:00 pm
Alley Pond Park
(718)217-4685

Online registration takes place on Monday, August 4, 2014

40 spots available
Sunday, August 10, 2014
1:00 pm– 3:30 pm
Alley Pond Park
(718)217-4685

Online registration takes place on Monday, August 4, 2014

40 spots available
Sunday, August 17, 2014
9:30 am–12:00 pm
Alley Pond Park
(718)217-4685

Online registration takes place on Monday, August 11, 2014

40 spots available
Sunday, August 17, 2014
1:00 pm– 3:30 pm
Alley Pond Park
(718)217-4685

Online registration takes place on Monday, August 11, 2014

40 spots available
Sunday, August 24, 2014
9:30 am–12:00 pm
Alley Pond Park
(718)217-4685

Online registration takes place on Monday, August 18, 2014

40 spots available
Sunday, August 24, 2014
1:00 pm– 3:30 pm
Alley Pond Park
(718)217-4685

Online registration takes place on Monday, August 18, 2014

40 spots available

Idlewild Birding by Canoe Excursion

Date and Time of ProgramLocationRegistration Information
Saturday, August 2, 2014
11:00 am– 2:00 am
Idlewild Park
718-352-1769

Sign up

14 spots available

Fort Tour by Candlelight

Date and Time of ProgramLocationRegistration Information
Saturday, September 6, 2014
7:30 pm– 9:30 pm
Fort Totten
718-352-1769

Online registration takes place on Wednesday, August 27, 2014

40 spots available

Family Camping

Date and Time of ProgramLocationRegistration Information
Saturday, August 2, 2014
6:00 pm– 7:00 am
Blue Heron Park
718-967-3542

Online registration ended on Tuesday, July 22, 2014

Friday, August 15, 2014
6:00 pm– 7:00 am
Conference House Park
718-967-3542

Online registration takes place on Tuesday, August 5, 2014

30 spots available
Saturday, September 6, 2014
6:00 pm– 7:00 am
Blue Heron Park
718-967-3542

Online registration takes place on Wednesday, August 27, 2014

30 spots available
Friday, September 19, 2014
6:00 pm– 7:00 am
High Rock Park
718-967-3542

Online registration takes place on Tuesday, September 9, 2014

30 spots available

Archery

Date and Time of ProgramLocationRegistration Information
Saturday, August 30, 2014
1:00 pm– 3:00 pm
Willowbrook Park
718-967-3542

Online registration takes place on Wednesday, August 20, 2014

40 spots available
Sunday, September 14, 2014
1:00 am– 3:00 am
Willowbrook Park
718-967-3542

Online registration takes place on Wednesday, September 3, 2014

40 spots available

Was this information helpful?